Heal Your Life Today

Merrill Black, L.C.S.W.
Psychotherapist/Reiki Master
The Temperance Center
453 White Plains Road
Suite 201
Eastchester, N.Y. 10709
Phone: (914) 793-2600
Email: merrill@healyourlife2day.com



An Overview Of Reiki
Today, most of us feel stress and tension in our daily lives. We often feel tired and our overall energy level is significantly diminished. This creates imbalance, and a lack of feeling centered; affecting our mind, bodies, and spirit.

Reiki can be a way to help modify these problems. restoring and integrating a sense of well being, harmony, and wholeness. This enables us to then be able to reduce stress, and heal emotionally, physically, and spiritually.

Most people who receive Reiki describe it as very relaxing, soothing, and calming. In Merrill’s private practice in Eastchester, New York , she incorporates Reiki to help the patient relax and begin to feel more balanced in their every day life.

What is Reiki?
Reiki is called the Universal Life Force Energy. Rei - represents the universal intelligence, which focuses and directs the life force energy to where it is most needed. When this energy is blocked, emotional, mental, and physical imbalances may develop. Ki - (known as Chi in Chinese) stands for the non-physical energy which creates and maintains a balanced and healthy body and spirit. Reiki is given through the practitioners hands either by placing them directly on the chakras of the body or just above the body. Therefore, you do not need to touch a person for the energy to be transmitted to the person. There is even reiki which can be given from a distance, called long distance healing. In Merrill’s practice in Eastchester, New York, she will often explain about Reiki and the benefits of the client receiving it, and using it for themselves.

Where Did Reiki Come From?
Reiki is and ancient system believed to have been around for thousands of years. We do not know the direct origin of Reiki, but many believe it to have originated in Tibet. In modern times, Reiki came to the United States in the 1930’s, from Mrs. Takata, a japanese woman who resided in Japan. Her teachings were based on Dr. Usui; who was regarded as the modern originator of Reiki in the 19th Century.

How Do You Learn Reiki?
You are taught Reiki from what is termed a “Reiki Master”. There are several attunements that you receive and three levels to learn about Reiki. If you complete all the attunements and the levels then you become a “Reiki Master.” Everyone has the ability to learn how to give and receive Reiki. There are many different methods of Reiki. Merrill was trained under the Usui method and uses this form in her practice in Eastchester, New York.


What Are Chakras?
Our bodies have many chakras. Chakra is the Sanskrit word which means “wheel”. They are spinning wheels of energy that flow in a circular direction. They are not physical but aspects of our consciousness, and they live in our etheric body.

There are seven major chakras in the body. Each of these seven chakras interacts both with the endocrine system and the nervous system. These seven chakras are associated with certain locations on the body.

The first chakra is the root chakra and is located at the base of the spine. The color associated with this chakra is red. This chakra is associated as our survival instincts, stability/security issues, and is where we can ground ourselves.

The second chakra is our navel or sacral plexus chakra and is located in the lower abdomen. The color of this chakra is orange. This is where we express ourselves creatively, sexually, and intimacy with ourselves and others.

The third chakra is our solar plexus and is located just above the navel. The color of this chakra is yellow. This is our will center. It is where we hold power, how we perceive ourselves and the outside world.

The fourth chakra is the heart chakra and is located in the center of the chest. The color of this chakra is green. This is where we can demonstrate compassion, unconditional love, kindness for ourselves and others.

The fifth chakra is the throat chakra and is located in the throat. The color of this chakra is sky blue. This is where we express ourselves both vocally and creatively. This is where we can speak our truth, be honest, and show integrity.

The sixth chakra is the Brow or Third Eye Chakra. The location of this chakra is the center of the forehead between the eyebrows. The color of this chakra is indigo (blue-purple). This is where we can get in touch with our intuition, self awareness, and higher consciousness.

The seventh chakra is the crown chakra. The location of this chakra is at the top of the head. The color of this chakra is violet. This is the place where you can connect with your divine/higher self and connectedness to being one with everything.

Merrill in her practice in Eastchester, New York will often teach her clients about the chakra system and the colors associated with them. Often the colors are used in her guided imagery/ visualizations so that her clients begin to understand what their mind, body, and soul respond to.